Vinyl – who needs it?

We have dozens of vinyl records.  Those that I bought, I think I can remember where, when and why I bought them.  I can remember the first time I played them.  I remember the horror of scratches, dust and static.

I don’t have those memories with downloads.  The digital convenience age, where instant gratification is god, comes complete with a memory vacuum.  I have thousands of tracks on countless drives and I don’t remember what I’ve got.

Worse, I don’t remember why I’ve got them.

So when you next listen to a vinyl records, with all the technical imperfections, just remember, it’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

